Marginalized News Commentary for Changemakers

Java Hope won first place in the Pure Michigan Social Entreprenurship Challenge on June 18th. The challenge was to speak to an audience without a prompt for five minutes. I did not get ‘brain freeze’ and completed my memorized speech flawlessly!

The real challenge for me was memorizing my speech without a prompt. After I completely memorized my investor pitch, my coach changed the orientation of the speech the day before the event. I had to memorize the new speech format shortly before the event. This was the real challenge! Fortunately I succeeded thanks to my cell phone. I used my phone to record my speech. I played the recording endlessly while sleeping and during my drive up to Lansing. It really worked! No brain freeze!

I will participate in the fall event and once again use my cell phone to help my ‘challenged’ memory. No more sweaty palms!

Java Hope empowers marginalized women to own and operate a coffee cart business. Please visit http://www.javahope.org for more information.

UPDATE: I was selected as one of the  first Michigan Corps Social Enterprise Fellows! Very honored to participate in this program.

Leave a Reply

Java Hope News Blast

Marginalized News Commentary for Changemakers

FreedomWorks - Lower Taxes, Less Government, More Freedom

Marginalized News Commentary for Changemakers

Marginalized News Commentary for Changemakers

WeeklyStandard.com RSS - daniel-halper

Marginalized News Commentary for Changemakers

MLA Welfare Challenge

Can you live on $610 a month?

Marginalized News Commentary for Changemakers

Nonprofit Communications: Writing For A Better World

Ideas & Information to Move Forward

